The Teams in the 22nd Men's Handball World Championship

In January 2011 24 teams will make up for the World Champion title in handball.
France has qualified as reigning champions and Sweden as host nation. During the European Championships in Austria in January 2010 another three European teams did qualify: Poland, Iceland and Croatia.

Three Asian teams qualified in February: Japan, Korea and Bahrain.

At the same time the African qualifications took place. Egypt, Tunisia and Algeria qualified from the African continent.

The remaining 13 teams played qualification matches in 2010.

From Europe the following nine teams qualified in June: Austria, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Spain.

Australia made it from the Oceanian continent and Argentina, Brazil and Chile from Panamerica.